Tags

, , , , ,

highland-pursuits-a-scottish-romance-by-emmanuelle-de-maupassant

1920s debutante Lady Ophelia Finchingfield is banished to wildest Scotland to come to her senses, having refused a marriage proposal from the Earl of Woldershire. In the care of her eccentric grandmother, Ophelia is soon caught between rugged widower Hamish and the villainous Comte de Montefiore. She’s ready to play with fire, but will she burn more than her fingers? A riotous romp, inspired by the work of Nancy Mitford, PG Wodehouse and Stella Gibbons. Featuring a treasure chest of characters, ‘Highland Pursuits’ is a wickedly naughty comedy of manners.

I eagerly look forward to reading this latest book by one of my favorite authors. The release date is 1 March 2017. I have found two of her previous books to be absolutely fascinating. I have written 5 star Amazon reviews these books:

 

The Gentlemen’s Club (Noire series Book 1)

5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book
By Dennis Cardiff on Oct. 19 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

I loved this book. The characters came alive, in fact I identified very much with the leading male character. I’m old enough to remember the Victory Burlesque Theatre that attracted the best of international dancers. This book brought back wonderful memories. I’m glad to see that this is Volume one in the ‘Noire’ Series. I eagerly anticipate Volume two. Emmanuelle de Maupassant has become one of my favorite erotic writers.

 

Cautionary Tales: Voices from the Edges

5.0 out 0f 5 stars Enchanting, Spellbinding, Delightful
By Dennis Cardiff on March 14 2016
Format: Kindle Edition

“Hear our stories, learn from our errors.
We too, were once flesh and blood.
Take heed: remember the old ways.”

Emmanuelle de Maupassant is an enchantress with words. I already knew this from reading The Gentlemen’s Club. Reading her stories lulls the reader to other times, other places where the unnatural becomes natural, where ghouls and ghosts watch your every move and will exact punishment or retribution when deserved. The characters come to life on the page with no wasted words.

I felt that I was sitting at a fireside hearing these cautionary tales told by a respected elder. Although fiction, my disbelief was suspended. While reading I was tempted to look over my shoulder, question every sound and inspect every shadow. This book is a masterpiece of storytelling, I recommend it to all adults who don’t mind being scared out of their wits.

I was offered an ARC on the understanding that I would review it honestly.

 

 

Readers of Highland Pursuits have posted reviews:

 

5.0 out of 5 stars How Ophelia Got Her Groove

By TheJulia on Feb. 22 2017
Format: Paperback

Highland Pursuits is just what you need when the realities of 2017 seem too much to bear. Turn off the news, ignore your Twitter feed, and dive with Ophelia in this delightfully frothy romp of a story. Immerse yourself in a world of house parties, tea gowns, and ten-course meals. You will be glad you did.

The tale of How Ophelia Got Her Groove is told with wit and compassion. The heroine starts as another madcap heiress having her requisite rebellion, but the character evolves as Ophelia discovers and comes to terms with her desires (for sex, for love, and for a meaningful life). Fortunately, Emmanuelle de Maupassant has steered clear of a common sin of many historical novels: the period character with modern-day sensibilities. Ophelia is modern enough for her time and circumstances; her social and sexual awakening is in tune with her story and circumstances, and that makes her relatable and likeable, and makes the reader root for her.

The author has an “ear” for the time and place – a slightly tongue-in-cheek, self-deprecating tone, the details of food and dress, the witty dialogue – that take you back to the golden time of house parties. The naughty bits are implied more than described in graphic detail, perfectly in tune with the wink-wink-nudge-nudge undertone. Add to it a villainess who is not entirely evil, a love interest with some depth, and you end up with a quality divertimento, well-crafted escapism, brain-candy for the discerning reader. Break open the bonbons and enjoy!

*I received an ARC from the author for an honest review*

 

4.0 out of 5 stars Feisty rom/com of a novella set in the 1920’s

By Christine Tovey TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on Feb. 15 2017
Format: Paperback

Highland Pursuits by Emmanuelle de Maupassant is a feisty rom/com of a novella set in the 1920’s following Lady Ophelia Finchingfield whom we first met in the “Because Beards” anthology. Emmanuelle’s writing was poetic and flowed with such ease I was able to follow these characters through their journey. The scene was set beautifully with intense detail to time period. This genre was completely new to me and I loved the flow of the story and how it felt like I went back in time to high society Scotland. I’m sure fan’s & new comers to this genre would enjoy story and all it entails.

