Tags

, , , , ,

How do I articulate the more than twenty years we’ve shared?
How do I calculate the trust accumulating each day?
How do I enumerate the hugs that send me off and welcome me home?
How do I evaluate the warmth of your smile
and the treasure of your company?

The special things that give me ultimate enjoyment are
the meals and conversations we share,
the dreams and plans we create,
the comfort we’ve shared in times of disappointment and tragedy,
the quiet times enjoying nature, walks without a word spoken.

These are things that seem to defy pretty words and phrases.
No rhythm, rhyme, consonance or assonance could improve on these.
No amount of wealth, position or power could equal what we have.
More important is knowing you are here for me
with love in your heart.

.

